Web Analytics
   Register •   Forum Home •   FAQ      Login    
   Windows Forums Register
Donate a Dollar to Pay for Next Year’s Web Hosting It is currently Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:10 pm 
Offline
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:26 pm
Posts: 237
Im trying to make drop down menus like on mintywhite. like when you hover over the windows 7 text, it shows some sections in a drop down menu form how do I do this?


_________________
ULTIMATE TWEAKERS: http://www.ultimatetweakers.webs.com for free tweaks

We will soon get our own domain name.


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: Re: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 11:28 am
Posts: 388
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
If you are using HTML, you could create a simple list box and set every one of the values as a hyperlink. After that use a JavaScript function for onHover to have the rest of the selections pop up. I've never done it before but that's the first thing that came to mind. You would have to play around with the CSS a lot to get it to look nice though. I wonder how Rich sets his up...

_________________
Image


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: Re: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:22 pm 
Offline
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:26 pm
Posts: 237
ty. but im using webs. its kind of hard making my oen CSS template. please help.

_________________
ULTIMATE TWEAKERS: http://www.ultimatetweakers.webs.com for free tweaks

We will soon get our own domain name.


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: Re: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:25 pm 
Offline
Frequent Member
Frequent Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 42
Location: USA
Here's a very simple code that I use on my website:

<form><select name="list"><option value="URL here">1. Name here</OPTION><option value="URL here">2. Name here</OPTION><option value="URL here">3. Name here</OPTION><option value="URL here">4. Name here</OPTION><option value="URL here">5. Name here</OPTION><option value="URL here">6. Name here</OPTION></select><input type=button value="Go There"onClick="top.location.href=this.form.list.options[this.form.list.selectedIndex].value"></form>

You can add as many links as you need by entering <option value="URL here">Name here</OPTION>

Just make sure this part of the code is at the end after </OPTION> ... </select><input type=button value="Go There"onClick="top.location.href=this.form.list.options[this.form.list.selectedIndex].value"></form>

_________________


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: Re: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:31 pm 
Offline
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:26 pm
Posts: 237
doesn't work. can you send me a CSS template? thankyou.

_________________
ULTIMATE TWEAKERS: http://www.ultimatetweakers.webs.com for free tweaks

We will soon get our own domain name.


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: Re: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 11:28 am
Posts: 388
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Mmmmm... how exactly are you building this website? The code given to you would work in HTML perfectly. Unless you are using some kind of GUI tool to build it, that should work fine. And what do you mean by "I'm using webs"? Try building it just so it works, and then trying the CSS later. You don't have to do it all at one time.

_________________
Image


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: Re: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:44 pm 
Offline
Frequent Member
Frequent Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 42
Location: USA
I agree with MSherwood here. I'm not sure exactly what you mean by "I'm using Webs". Is Webs an application or a type of web builder/pagebuilder?

The best advice I can give you is to do a Google search for "free css templates for drop down menus". I found this site by doing a simple search:

http://www.hiddenpixels.com/javascript/css-dropdown-menus-sample-and-tutorials/

There are plenty of tutorials you can find by doing a search for them. Also, if you know of a website that you like and want to know how it was made, you can view the source. Just right click on part of the background of the webpage and scroll down to where it says "view source" or something similar to those words.

I also have two pages on my website that has plenty of links to tutorials for HTML, javascript, how to make tables, free codes, drop down menus, etc.:

Multiple Tools

I also have this page where you may be able to find some more guides and tools:

Useful Sites

I also have a friend that has website full of helpful tools, tutorials for HTML, javascripts, etc.:

The Club House

Good luck! :)

_________________


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: How do I put RSS feeds on my site?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:02 pm 
Offline
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:26 pm
Posts: 237
How do I put RSS feeds on my site? :?:

_________________
ULTIMATE TWEAKERS: http://www.ultimatetweakers.webs.com for free tweaks

We will soon get our own domain name.


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: Re: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:05 pm 
Offline
Highly Valued Member
Highly Valued Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:26 pm
Posts: 237
thank you. but im using freewebs site builder.

_________________
ULTIMATE TWEAKERS: http://www.ultimatetweakers.webs.com for free tweaks

We will soon get our own domain name.


 Profile E-mail  
 Post subject: Re: How do I make drop-down menus?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 11:28 am
Posts: 388
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Oh lol that's why you can't make a drop-down menu then. The software they are letting you use doesn't support more complex stuff like that. You should learn HTML! It really isn't that difficult, and the more you understand it the more you will see how things are done on the web (like seeing the matrix in "The Matrix"). I know for a fact that Rich writes all of his code in notepad, and he has a deep understanding of web technologies, so that's why he's able to do it. So I wouldn't feel too bad for not being able to do it. Rich is kind of "a pro" at this.

_________________
Image


 Profile E-mail  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  


© 2008-09 www.mintywhite.com | Rich Robinson